In this article we'll learn:
- How to open the File Management panel
- Which parameters and settings are available
1. Opening »File Management«
Before you can edit a Print Item or access other Plug-in panels, you need to log in to the Workflow using the Adobe Illustrator Plug-in. Proceed as follows:
- In Adobe Illustrator, select Window  > Durst Workflow .
- This opens a drop-down menu where you can access the various Plug-in panels.
- Select File Management , which will open the File Management panel.
Figure 1: Adobe Illustrator with the Window menu active.
2. User Interface
The File Management panel is divided into four sections:
- Central Area  (red area) – Use this area for searching and selecting Print Items, Orders and Production Jobs and viewing the current status of the Workflow. Production Jobs can be created and deleted in this area. This area is always available, but the content varies depending on the menu item selected.
- Order Item – Use this area to select an Order Item. This area is only available when the Order tab is active in the central area.
- Print Item  (yellow area) – Use this area to select Print Items. This area is only available if the Order or Production Job tab has been activated. The Print Items displayed in this area are assigned to the selected Order Item or Production Job.
- Information  (grey area) – This area displays meta-information about the selected Print Item and also displays additional information, checking Print Items in and out and logging off from the Workflow.
Depending on the tab that is active in the central area, the following areas are available:
- Article – Central Area and Print Data.
- Order – Central Area, Order Item, Print Items and Information.
- Production Job – Central Area, Print Items and Information.
Figure 2: The File Management panel with Jobs tab selected.
2.1. Central Area
The following elements are available in the central area:
- Search Field  – Articles, Orders or Production Jobs can be searched for by keyword.
Menu bar 
- Articles – Displays all Articles that exist in the Workflow (including all tiles that have been created from a Tiling imposition).
- Orders – Displays all Orders that exist in the Workflow.
- Production Jobs – Displays all Production Jobs that exist in the Workflow.
- Status – Shows the system status and the activities of the Workflow.
Footer  – If Article, Order or Production Job is selected in the central area, this is the area, where you can see the next/previous ten entries of the selected menu. If the Production Job menu is selected, additional functions are available in the form of icons:
- Add: By clicking the + symbol you can create a new Production Job from the Plug-In in the Workflow.
- Edit: By clicking the pencil icon you can edit an existing Production Job from the Plug-In in the Workflow.
- Delete: By clicking the trash can icon you can delete an existing Production Job from the Plug-In in the Workflow.
Figure 3: The central area of the File Management panel.
This section is displayed when the Order  tab is selected in the central area. Four menu items are available in the menu bar of the section:
- Order Item: Displays all Order Items available for the selected Order.
- Details: In the future, the details of the Order Item will be available here.
- Contact: In the future this will contain information for contact persons saved in an Order Item.
- Protocol: In future this will display the steps logged for the Order Item.
Figure 4: The Order Item area, which is only displayed in the central area when the Order tab is selected.
2.3. Print Item
The Print Item area displays all Print Items that belong to an Order Item or a Production Job. If you select a Print Item, the system displays the meta-information in the Information area and provides functions for checking the Print Item in and out.
Figure 5: The Print Item area, which is only displayed in the central area if either the Order or Production Job tabs are selected.
2.4. Detail Information
Depending on the selected tab , the following details are displayed in the Information section:
Print Data: Here you will find all relevant print production information.
- Dimensions and Number of Pages
- Output Configuration
- Process Colors, Spot Colors and Technical Colors
- Print Item Information
- Separations from the Print Item
- Before/After: In the future, this area will contain before/after information for the Print Item.
- Additional Data: In the future, additional documents for the selected Print Item will be available here.
- Ink Usage: In the future, current ink consumption for the selected Print Item will be available here.
Figure 6: The Information section of the File Management panel.
In the Footer of this area you will find important functions that allow you to edit the Print Item:
- Logout  – By clicking this symbol, you will be logged out of the Workflow.
- Check in  – After editing your Print Items, you can upload the edited print data into the Workflow by clicking the Check in icon. This process creates a new version of the Print Item in the Workflow.
- Check out  – By clicking the Check out symbol, you can open and edit the selected Print Item from the Workflow directly in Adobe Illustrator.